Flash Fiction: “The Numbers Game”

Chuck Wendig’s Flash Fiction Challenge this week was to choose 3 of the following 5 words, and use them in a 100 word story.  I had a lot of fun writing this, and would love to hear what you think.

Words to choose from: Enzyme, Ivy, Bishop, Blister, Lollipop — I’m not going to tell you which I chose. You can read on and see for yourself.

Grudge Match

“In the blue corner, Bobby the Beast!”

The crowd cheered. Bobby held his clenched hands over his head, displaying the stars and stripes on his shirt.

“And in the red corner, Nightmare Nikolai!”

Nikolai ignored the jeering crowd and beat his fists against the stripes of white, blue and red emblazoned across his chest.

“This is it, folks. No more poison ivy underwear or laxative-laced lollipops, just Bobby and Nikolai locked in good, clean combat.” A brief pause. “Are you ready for this?”

The crowd roared. The adversaries faced each other.

Bobby made the first move.

“Bishop to B2.”

17 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction

17 responses to “Flash Fiction: “The Numbers Game”

  1. Nicely done, I loved it! I must admit I was a sucker for WWF wrestling as a kid, and don’t mind watching the occasional match.

    I’m wondering if you’d heard of chess boxing? A game of speed chess mixed up with boxing http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chess_boxing

  2. Very nice job! If someone laced my underwear with poison ivy, I’d be ready for a grudge match, too! 🙂

  3. Chris Mackey

    This is great. My favorite so far 🙂

  4. ZC

    Don’t quite know what it is about your writing, but again I could really visualize this. The bright spandex costumes, over the top headgear, serious expressions, and the final strut to the chess board. Very cool.

  5. Dee

    wow, these chess players take the game seriously!! I was so not thinking that’s where this was heading. I could almost hear the cheers and jeers. Now to go read that article on chess boxing…

  6. Awesome. The chess move came at me totally out of left field: I wasn’t expecting it, but when it hit, it made me smile.

    And I’m terrible at chess.

  7. Loved it Jo, was deeply into the visualisation of some bloodsport…Championship Chess!

  8. Very nice work. Loved the way the references were almost all slotted in in the first segment and then you get the kicker ending. Chess boxing! Really good.

  9. ZC

    Congrats on the win! Well-deserved!

  10. Pingback: Celebrate! It’s a new year! | The Happy Logophile

Speak to me.