Flash Fiction: Song Shuffle Stories

This week’s terribleminds challenge was to do the following:

  1. Put the music player of your choice on shuffle.
  2. Press play.
  3. Take the title of the first track that comes up, and use that as the title for a 500 word story.

So, off I went, worried that my MP3 player would come up with either one of my son’s songs, or something insanely embarassing. As it is, I ended up with Adrian Alexis singing I Want to be a Vampire.

Hmmm.

I give you:

I Want to be a Vampire

Vlad Dracula II smiled as he surveyed the apartment. The burgundy drapes and black walls were a nice touch.

“Well, this looks lovely, Kevin,” said a friendly female voice behind him.

Vlad spun on his heel, his cape flaring dramatically around him. “I told you to call me Vlad,” he said coldly.

“Sorry Kev— I mean, Vlad,” the woman said with an indulgent laugh.

“What do you want, Mum?”

“I just wanted to see how you were settling in,” she said. “And I brought you a casserole.”

The young man scowled – it was an expression he’d spent hours perfecting in front of the mirror.

“It’s your favourite: macaroni and tuna.”

Vlad hesitated, running his tongue over the sharp edges of his new dental work. “Okay,” he said finally. “Put it in the fridge.”

She smiled and disappeared into the kitchen. “Oh,” she said a moment later. “Even the refrigerator’s black. That’s a…” she hesitated, “… a nice touch.”

“Is there anything else?”

She returned from the kitchen, a slightly hurt look on her face. “No, dear. I’m glad you’re settling in alright. Will you be home for dinner on Sunday? It’s just that your Dad… Well, it would be nice if you could leave some of your…” she trailed off, and waved her hand vaguely around the room. “Well, it would be nice to have a real family dinner. If you know what I mean.”

“It will have to be after dark,” Vlad said. “I sleep during the day.”

“Oh. Of course you do. Well, that would be fine.”

Vlad just nodded, and then looked expectantly at his mother.

“Right then,” she  said. “Well, have a good week. I’ll see you Sunday. I’ll show myself out.”

Once she was gone, Vlad locked the door and started stacking the books he’d purchased on eBay from Occult_Superstarz on to his new black bookcase.

 #

 It was eleven o’clock Saturday night. Vlad was sitting at the bar, pretending to drink a glass of Coke. They wouldn’t sell him the scotch to go with it.

“What’s your name?”

Vlad turned. A cute girl with bright red lips was smiling at him. “Vlad. Vlad Dracula II,” he said.

She laughed. “Really? That’s so…” she paused to look him up and down, taking in the black boots and jeans, skin-tight black shirt, cape, and designer fangs. “…delicious,” she finished.

“Come home with me,” Vlad said. He’d tried the line all week. This was the first time he didn’t get slapped.

“Sure,” she said. “Call me Lillith.”

 #

Pain. Blood. Darkness. Fear.

“It’s not like the movies,” Lillith said, gore dripping from her fangs. She grinned at him, her knees pinning him to the bed and her eyes glowing red. “But you’ll find that out.” She lowered her head.

Vlad gasped as he felt the seductive caress of her tongue on the open wound at his throat.

 #

Vlad Dracula II awoke alone, covered in blood, and hungry.

So hungry.

It was Sunday night.

Time for dinner with the family.

22 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction

22 responses to “Flash Fiction: Song Shuffle Stories

  1. He he, deliciously wicked. Be careful what you wish for, eh?

    Great story.

  2. I really really loved this! I am in such awe of your creativity. Thank you for sharing these with us!

  3. And then? AND THEN? HOW RUDE!!!

  4. So I just shuffled my phone and I got “Take It.” Am I up for the challenge? Hmmmm…

  5. Yay!!! Yay!!! More!!

    I might just join you in this Flash Fiction business. I’ve been weighing it for a few months. I want to be sure I can commit to it.

    • You really should — If your poetry’s anything to go by, I’m sure you’d have a blast writing short stories. 🙂

      I don’t participate in absolutely every challenge, either. Sometimes I can’t come up with anything I like, and sometimes I just plum run out of time (like last week). But it’s such a lot of fun to (1) write something short and interesting, and (2) have an almost guaranteed group of other writers drop by and leave comments.

  6. ava

    I like it very much! Just the right touch of tease and “finish” for me. 🙂 More! More! More!

  7. Ooh, I love it. This was a really good one Jo! My favorite yet I think.

  8. Very nice. Seems to me a sort of “serves your right” to the Twilight crowd… These creatures are not “cool”, something to be desired. They are not aspirational. They are parasites… At least that’s how I always think of Vampires. I guess you can use them in other ways in your fiction, to symbolically represent other things, but I just can’t get past the part where the suck human blood.

    • That’s my husband’s point of view as well. I’m pretty open to just about any kind of vampire in fiction (as long as they don’t sparkle in the sunlight), which probably comes (in part) from years of playing White Wolf’s Vampire RPG.

  9. Ben Trube

    I love this idea! I need to try this soon. Will let you know if I do.

    • You definitely should. 🙂

      (I assume you mean that you love the idea of writing flash fiction stories and posting them online, as opposed to loving the idea of pretending to be a vampire and then being turned by an actual vampire and going off to feed from your family…)

Speak to me.